What is Your Life?

DSC_1296
“The Golden Gate Bridge at Dawn”

 

The future is difficult to predict.  We can make the best plans in the world, prepare ourselves for every contingency, but then something comes up that we never saw coming:  we trip and fall; spend our last dime on a mother or father’s health care, or come down with a terminal illness, then all of the plans in the world are thrown out the window.

In the Book of James, the writer talks about how none of us have a clue about what tomorrow will bring.  Our lives are like the midst that appears for a moment, then we are called to return to God.

So, what I want to talk about is the value of a life.  What is your life?  Who are you, really?  Are you as committed in your faith as you project to others?  Will your money last until you are dead?  Will your money and wealth leave when you leave this earth?  What will happen to your things when you die?  What are the things that truly matter in life: your success, your money, your image that you present to others?  What is your life?

James 4: 14 Yet you do not even know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

 

Prayer:

Lord, I need your help in envisioning a future.  Help me to be unashamed to be unaware of the future and what it holds for me.  Teach me not to worry about what I cannot see and do not understand.  Help me to see what I cannot see.  Help me to understand what I cannot understand.  Help me to feel what I cannot feel.  Lord, show me how to live my life with freedom and courage to go to the farthest length, climb the highest mountain, and dream the most distant of dreams.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord  and Savior I Pray.  Amen.

 

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jas 4:14). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.