“There is One Body and One Spirit”

DSC_1024
Dr. Tina Mason and her husband, Rendell Thomas, sandwiched between me and Denise last Sunday after worship at the 1st congregational church of Berkeley, California

 

Last Sunday at 1:30 PM after church, along with my associate minister, I sat with ten children who are around twelve years of age in our Confirmation of Faith Class.  Together we talked about God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit.  Even though this was only our second class, the children had their own sense of what it means to believe in God and the connection between those three elements we refer to as the “Trinity.”

In so many different ways I tried to make the concept of the trinity understandable to middle school youth.  As I tried to explain the concept of a three in one God that came to earth in the form of the little baby Jesus, lived among us, taught among us, healed among us and performed other miracles among us, died among us, rose from the grave and is now seated at the right hand of God.  In the aftermath of his death, Jesus has left us a comforter, the Holy Spirit, to lead us, guide us, inform us and protect us.

The more I thought about the concept of the trinity, the more I was drawn to the words of the Apostle Paul in Ephesians, chapter 4, where he expounds on the unique role of God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit and how we are made whole and part of the community of believers by our faith.

 

Ephesians 4: There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to the one hope of your calling, one Lord, one faith, one baptism[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about there being “One body and One Spirit?”
  2. How are the Spirit and the body of Christ one?
  3. How would you describe the connection between God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you.  Lord, I believe you.  Lord, I trust you.  Before there was a world, there was you.  Before the stars and the moon, there was you.  I commit this day to work for you, live for you and die for you.  I commit this day to bring others to you.  I commit this day to give my all to you.  Lord, I want to tell the world what you have done, and what you are doing in my life right now.  You died that I might live.  You taught that I might know.  You loved that I might love.  Bless me now to give my life completely to you.  Your grace is sufficient.  Your mercy is great.  Your love is everlasting.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Eph 4:4–5). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.