“Bear with One Another in Love”

DSC_1035
Engaged couple, Blair Parkman and Howie Norman

 

I have been speaking around the country about the topic of “Endurance.”  My point is that any person with a strong will can endure pain, lack of resources and misfortune.  The larger question is this:  is our endurance mere tolerance or is it also proactive and positive?

A proactive and positive endurance is one that attempts to address the source of suffering so that it does not repeat itself into the future.  Authentic love will develop the ability to not only endure pain, insult, disappointment and worse, but it also will strive to address the problem and work toward a deeper, more productive and fun type of love.   In Ephesians chapter 4, the Apostle Paul teaches us to “Bear with one another in love.”  I encourage you to contemplate what Paul is teaching and ask yourself the following questions regarding the quality of love and the process we use to endure in love and grow love in the Spirit, form and fashion of Jesus Christ.

Ephesians 4: with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love,[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How can we “Bear with one another in love” and maintain an authentic love?
  2. What does it take to endure another person’s faults and rough spots and grow in love?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me the strength to bear in love those whom we love. Grant me patience.  Grant me a spirit of kindness.  Instruct me with words that are gentle and true. Show me how to bear the faults of others.  Lord, help me to respond to those who are rude without becoming rude.  Show me how to meet meanness without becoming mean.  Lord, show me how to bear with one another in love.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Eph 4:2). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.