Let Us Approach with a True Heart

DSC_0959
Nancy Page, Denise Page Hood, Maleah and Sharla Hood

 

“What are you giving up for Lent?”  Our granddaughter went around the room and asked everyone the same question.  When she got to me, I replied “Nothing.”  She asked me how come I was not giving up anything for Lent.  I told her that I try each day to strive to be holy and right with God.  I do not claim to be perfect, but I am striving for perfection.  I tried to tell her that I am striving for a genuine faith, a faith that is in a continual process to be better and right with what God expects of each.

The Apostle Paul speaks of approaching God with a “True heart.”  To me, a “True heart” means having the right attitude and right spirit to approach God.  Thank you for reading this blog post and I hope you will share this writing with someone you know.

Hebrews 10: 22 let us approach with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What do you think is the appropriate attitude to approach God?
  2. What does it mean to have a “True Heart”?
  3. How can a person prevent “An evil conscience”?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I want to approach you in a way that you deem most appropriate.  Clean my mind that my thoughts might be pure.  Sprinkle my heart that I might strive toward the fresh stream of your righteousness.  Train my hands that I might work for good and not for evil.  Bless me.  Strengthen me.  Keep me always with a true heart and mind.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Heb 10:22). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.