I Will Restore Health to You

DSC_0879
Doris Ray holding the plaque; Henrietta Carson, left;  Rev. Dr. Georgia Hill; Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

 

Friday afternoon I stopped what I was doing to visit Doris Ray.  Mrs. Ray is a member of my church.  She is the first coordinator of our outreach ministry to house the homeless.  Fifteen years ago, Mrs. Ray accepted my request that she consider preparing large church dinners to follow funerals and other meetings and programs.  Today she is wrestling with arthritis.  Along with Rev. Dr. Georgia Hill, our associate minister, and my assistant, Henrietta Carson, the three of us went to visit Mrs. Ray.

We had a great visit.  We saw her receiving physical therapy.  I was impressed with how determined she was to walk, and in a relative sense, her fast pace.  I presented her with a plaque from the church and a copy of my book, “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out.”  We made a short video on my cell phone and she looked great.

Mrs. Ray looks like she wants to make it back to good health.  She is trying hard and taking her therapy serious.  I pray for her and ever person who desires to be restored to good health.  Let me share a Bible verse to encourage those who are sick:

Jeremiah 30: 17      For I will restore health to you, and your wounds I will heal, says the Lord, [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does this Bible verse say to you regarding the role and attitude of God towards wellness and healing?
  2. What else does this verse say to you?

 

Prayer:

Lord, my prayer today is for healing.  Heal the sick.  Bind the wounds of the injured and Lord, heal me.  Bless the medicines in my body.  Bless the doctors and nurses who attend to me.  Bless my friends and family who are struggling to regain their health.  Bless us this day with your restoration, renewal and redirection.  Restore us with your hope, your healing and your love.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Je 30:17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.