Those of Steadfast Mind You Keep in Peace

DSC_0659
“Sunset behind the Riverfront Apartments in Detroit, Michigan”

 

What does it take to have a “Steadfast mind?”  The prophet Isaiah talks about being kept in peace- if you have a “Steadfast mind.”  A steadfast mind is a mind that knows where it is going, what it wants and what it does not want.  A steadfast mind does not shift like the wind because things do not go your way.  A steadfast mind is focused, set and ready to go for those things that are pure, just and right.

The promise of God is that we are kept in a perfect peace when we put God first.  You can have all the money in the world, but if you do not have inner peace you do not have a great life.  Some people make a lot of money, but spend more than they make- where is the peace?  Some people have a lot of things, but are not happy.  Others may not have a lot of things, but go to sleep with nothing but sweet dreams.  They work hard or may be unemployed, but they feel good about who they are, what they are doing with their life and where they are headed.

My encourage to you is that you strive to obtain the steadfast mind that will provide you with a perfect peace.  That peace is the gift that only Jesus Christ can give.  He will fill you when you are hungry, clothe you when you are naked, visit you when you are lonely, and protect you when you are defenseless.  He will give you a wealth that transcends money and a joy that transcends earthly joy.  Most of all he will give you a peace which transcends peace.

Isaiah 26: 3   Those of steadfast mind you keep in peace— in peace because they trust in you. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it mean to be of “Steadfast mind?”
  2. How does our trust in God keep us in peace?

Prayer:

Lord, I trust you.  Lord, my heart is fixed and my mind is made up.  I put my trust in you.  I put my faith in your promise of redemption from my sins.  I put my hope in your Word.  I put my confidence in your history of liberation for the oppressed, your defense for the defenseless, your love for the widow and the orphan, and your protection for the poor.  Lord, help me to have a steadfast mind.  Keep me in your peace.  Keep me in your care.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Is 26:3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.