Fathers Do Not Provoke Your Children

DSC_0844

At 1:30 PM Sunday, I began a new Confirmation of Faith Class.  This is my 39th year of leading Confirmation of Faith Classes.  Denise prepares a meal and we talk about the faith.  One of the fascinating things about this class is that although the youth are only 12 years of age they already have a sense of God.  I asked each youth when the pray and what do they pray for?  The children were open as they discussed when and what they pray for.  I assured them that there were no wrong answers and that each person is entitled to their own understanding of God.  For me, it was more important during that teaching moment to encourage and not discourage the youth.  It caused me to think about the teaching of the Apostle Paul as found in the Book of Colossians:

Colossians 3: 20 Children, obey your parents in everything, for this is your acceptable duty in the Lord. 21 Fathers, do not provoke your children, or they may lose heart.[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the most important things that adults can do to help shape and guide the lives of children?
  2. Why do you think the Apostle Paul included the two verses in Colossians regarding children and parents?

 

Prayer:

God, help me to be a strong and good role model for the children in my life.  Show me how to encourage the young and not discourage the young.  Grant me wisdom as I attempt to answer their questions.  Grant me courage to tell them the truth.  Help me to learn how to motivate and not to castigate, to dream and not scream, to love, listen and laugh.  Show me now how to be a good role model for children.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations fomr Rev. Dr. Nichoal Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Col 3:20–21). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.