Know the Word, Share the Word, Live the Word

DSC_0780
Victoria Barnes, Satayra Johnson, myself, Letrice Wood, back row:  Nancy Page, Joyce Penn and Judge Denise Page Hood

 

Matthew 10: 5 These twelve Jesus sent out with the following instructions: “Go nowhere among the Gentiles, and enter no town of the Samaritans, but go rather to the lost sheep of the house of Israel. As you go, proclaim the good news, ‘The kingdom of heaven has come near.’ Cure the sick, raise the dead, cleanse the lepers, cast out demons. You received without payment; give without payment. Take no gold, or silver, or copper in your belts, 10 no bag for your journey, or two tunics, or sandals, or a staff; for laborers deserve their food. 11 Whatever town or village you enter, find out who in it is worthy, and stay there until you leave. 12 As you enter the house, greet it. 13 If the house is worthy, let your peace come upon it; but if it is not worthy, let your peace return to you.[1]

 

Last night I had dinner with the leadership team of our Sunday School.  They shared with me exuberant plans to take the children in June by bus to tour the White House.  47 youth are signed up for the trip and they have already raised 2/3rd of the money necessary for the trip.  We also discussed some of the more nitty-gritty issues relative to operating a first rate Sunday School.  I shared with them by thanks for what they do every week.  One of the things I mentioned is that the trip to Washington DC will be a spiritual high point for the children and years from now when they think about the Plymouth United Church of Christ, one of the things that will be at the top of their personal list will be the Trip To DC.

I thanked the leadership team and tried to transmit my deep appreciation to them for what they do for our children.  Looking at them made me think back to an earlier literature we used to use that had three different sections:  Know the Word, Live the Word and Do the Word.  I would add to that list:  Speak the Word.

These are the basic elements of the founding of the original Christian church.  The disciples were encouraged to know the Bible, Live the Bible and speak the truth about Jesus Christ.  Sunday School Youth are encouraged to know the Bible, incorporate the Bible into their daily live and ultimately speak what they know in the Bible as they encourage their friends to get to know the Lord as Savior.

 

Prayer:

 

Lord, teach me to know your Word, live your Word, do your Word.  Help me to encourage others accept your salvation.  Give me the right words so I might speak with passion, minister in truth, and love as though our very lives depend upon this Gospel.  Help me to lead others to you in truth.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and savior I pray.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the work of Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 10:5–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.