Arise Shine, for Your Light Has Come!

DSC_0756

The Book of Isaiah is set upon the backdrop of Babylonian exile.  In the midst of the great exile the Word of God speaks through the prophet Isaiah to tell the people that a new day is about to dawn.  God was ready to bring the exiles home.

In like manner, these words are still encouraging.  It is easy to become overwhelmed with the burdens of the day like financial strain, relationship strain, and the strains of health.  The good news of Jesus Christ is that all things can be made new.

The rise and setting of the sun is symbolic of the newness that God can bring to our lives.  The rising sun reminds us that God has given us another day and where there is life, there is hope.

 

Isaiah 60 Arise, shine; for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What is it about the Lord that can make a depressed person feel better and good about themselves?
  2. What are your thoughts about the “Glory of the Lord?”

 

Prayer:

Shine your light Lord. Shine your light!  In the fog of confusion, I need your light.  In the gloom of despair, I need your hope.  Shine on me and I shall live.  Shine on me and I will be renewed.  Shine upon me and I will blossom.  Touch me now Lord and I will bring others to the good news of your salvation.  Bless me now and I will bless others as I lead them to the throne of your everlasting love.  Through Jesus Chris our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Is 60:1). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.