CHIEF JUDGE DENISE PAGE HOOD

January 29, 2016

Statement by Rev. Nicholas Hood, Sr. at her investiture as

Chief Judge, United States District Court, Sixth District

January 22, 2016

 

 

DSC_0504
Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood Sr. giving remarks at the Investiture of his daughter in law, Judge Denise Page Hood – photo by Harold White

At The end of election day in 1989, I was so tired I could hardly get home after many hours of standing outside of the voting location urging those who came to vote  to cast a vote for Denise Hood for Recorders Judge.

 

 

Finally, I was able to go home and fall into bed and shortly thereafter I was sound asleep. I was awakened by the phone, and when I answered, the voice on the other end of the line said: “are you asleep?”.  I replied. “not now”.

 

The person on the other end of the phone line was my daughter-in-law, 36 District Judge Denise Page Hood, who also had been working at the election polls urging voters to cast a vote for her to be elected to the position of Recorder’s Court Judge.  She very excitingly said: “When all of the votes were counted tonight,  I lead the field”!

 

When you asked me to have some remarks, all I could think of is: YOUR ARE STILL LEADING THE FIELD, and all of your family and friends congratulate you.

 

I want to thank retired Senator Carl Leven and retired Senator Don Regal for recommending Judge Denise Page Hood to President Clinton for the position of United States  District Judge.

 

All I can say today is: Judge Hood, you  are still leading the field! and we in your family are very proud of you!  We wish you our most sincere congratulations.