Right Road for a New You

DSC_0274
“The Ambassador Bridge Between Canada and Detroit, Michigan”

 

There is nothing more annoying than being on the wrong road.  You plug in your GPS, but it takes you to some place different.  I waited once in a cemetery with a family who patiently waited for other family members whose GPS had guided them from Detroit over the Ambassador Bridge into Canada.  They were on the wrong road but did not know it.  They drove to Detroit from another city, did not know exactly where they were going, so they relied upon the GPS, but it took them over the rainbow and through the woods.

You can be on the right road, but at the wrong time and end up in a ditch. Sometimes, I have found that the wrong road will provide you with experiences you did not plan on and what began as a boring event is transformed into an exciting adventure.

Jesus Christ offers to all who will follow him, the right road to salvation.  In Luke chapter 9 a person offers to follow Jesus “wherever you go.” (Vs. 57).

Luke 9: 57 As they were going along the road, someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.”[1]

The exchange between Jesus, his disciples and the unnamed people from the village is a priceless glimpse into the mind of Jesus.  Each of the persons who professes to want to follow Jesus has an excuse.  Jesus warns one that if he follows him he will give up the comforts of life.  To another Jesus encourages him to follow him even though his father is dead and the burial has not yet happened.  Another person wants to wait until he has said good bye to his family.  In like manner, sometimes we come up with a lot of excuses to keep from following Jesus all the way:  “I cannot afford to tithe.”  “I don’t have time to minister to the distressed and depressed.”  “I am too this or too that to be an effective evangelist for the Lord.”

57 As they were going along the road, someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” 58 And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.” 59 To another he said, “Follow me.” But he said, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.” 60 But Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead; but as for you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God.” 61 Another said, “I will follow you, Lord; but let me first say farewell to those at my home.” 62 Jesus said to him, “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.”

 

In the next chapter, 70 persons accept the call of Christ and follow Jesus-

 

10 After this the Lord appointed seventy others and sent them on ahead of him in pairs to every town and place where he himself intended to go. He said to them, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore ask the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest. Go on your way. See, I am sending you out like lambs into the midst of wolves. Carry no purse, no bag, no sandals; and greet no one on the road. Whatever house you enter, first say, ‘Peace to this house!’ And if anyone is there who shares in peace, your peace will rest on that person; but if not, it will return to you. Remain in the same house, eating and drinking whatever they provide, for the laborer deserves to be paid. Do not move about from house to house. Whenever you enter a town and its people welcome you, eat what is set before you; cure the sick who are there, and say to them, ‘The kingdom of God has come near to you.’ 10 But whenever you enter a town and they do not welcome you, go out into its streets and say, 11 ‘Even the dust of your town that clings to our feet, we wipe off in protest against you. Yet know this: the kingdom of God has come near.’ 12 I tell you, on that day it will be more tolerable for Sodom than for that town. [2]

[3]

 

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How can a person know when he or she is on the “Right Road” with the Lord?
  2. What is the spiritual equivalent of a GPS system with Jesus?

 

Prayer:

Lord, order my steps that I might follow you.  Free my mind that I might understand you more fully.  Free my hands that I might work more for you more completely.  When my direction is wrong, turn me around and put me on the right path.  Lord, you are my light and my salvation.  You are my strength.  You are my hope.  You are my joy.  You are my everything.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr.  Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 9:57). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 10:1–12). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[3] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 9:57–62). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.