DSC_0271Young people remind me that life goes on.  As we grow older, the one thing that remains constant is that every year a new crop of young persons take their place on the stage of life.  They think, act, create, live and breathe, just like older people.  In their own way they add to the flavor and texture of life and the world moves on.

I was reminded of the fresh newness of youth on Sunday.  Brandon Harris, who is a third year divinity student at the Emory School of Theology, preache at the church I pastor.  Sunday was both “Leadership Sunday” where new church officers were dedicated as well as our celebration of the life and legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. Brandon had a strong message and a uplifting spirit.  After worship, several of our young adults stopped by my home to meet the young preacher.  My house became electric with the energy of the young adults.

Monday, I delivered a message in honor of Martin Luther King Jr.at the Charles Wright Museum of African American History.  Like the young preacher and the young people at my home, there were young people dancing, playing the piano and playing a role in the program.  I was surprised to see a young girl from my church dancing in one of the groups.  As I looked at her I was struck with the thought that the person I have thought of for years as a little girl is now a little older and taking her place on the stage of life.

As I think of the process of youth becoming older I am drawn to Psalm 144: 12 where David uses the following language to describe the flowering and maturation of youth.

” That our sons may be as plants grown up in their youth: that our daughters may be as corner stones polished after the similitude of a place.”

Questions for Reflection:

1. What are your thoughts regarding the creative spirit of youth?

2. What responsibility do older persons have in the nurturing of young people?

3. Why do you think this verse is contained within a psalm that talks about “training for war”

Prayer:

Lord, bless our youth, that they may learn the lessons of life and eventually take their place in the circle of leadership.  Bless the young with open eyes and willing spirits.  Bless them with a curiosity to solve the questions of life and help them to move the world forward on the path to prosperity and peace.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. NIcholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. NIcholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Learn about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at http://www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org