“Faith and the Fear of Death”

DSC_0583
Slave Castle, Ghana

Fear is often portrayed as a weakness. Faith, by the same token, is sometimes viewed as foolishness. The existence of God is challenged by non-believers as a tall stretch in a world of absolutes and certainties.

Yet, for those who believe in God, it is our faith that not only binds us to each other, but also gives us the strength to press on in the face of the unknown and to make the most of life in spite of the odds.

Fear is real. Fear also differs from person to person. One person will fear failure. Another will fear a terminal diagnosis of cancer. Some of us fear being alone.

To me, the greatest fear is the fear of death. Death is so final. Death is full of mystery.   What happens when we die? Will we know what is going on when we die?   Will death hurt? At what point will we see Jesus in death?   Will heaven be boring? Will we go to hell by accident?   How does one tap into the redemptive grace and mercy of God that can save us from eternal death?

The word of God that came to Isaiah is that we should not fear because God has committed to love us, be with us and never leave us.

Isaiah 41: 10          do not fear, for I am with you, do not be afraid, for I am your God; [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the biggest challenges in maintaining faith?
  2. How can our fears make faith in God difficult?

 

Prayer:

Lord, help me to overcome my fears. Increase my faith so I might live through and beyond the challenges of life. Lord, I need you. Lord, I want you. Lord, I believe in you. I cannot see the end, but the road looms before me. Sometimes I cannot hear you, but I trust your direction. I trust your mercy. I trust your grace. Bless me and keep me always in your care. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More information regarding Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Is 41:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.