DSC_0234
“The Detroit River at Sunset (near Belle Isle)”

“May the Lord Bless His People With Peace!”

For me, one of the great goals in life is to attain inner peace. Inner peace is unique because unlike external peace where a person can learn the secret to wearing a “Poker face”, but be torn up with jealousy, hate, bitterness and envy, inner peace is a true calm. As Jesus said, 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid[1] (John 14)

The “Peace of the world” is a shallow peace. The peace of God is a perfect peace. The “Peace of the world” is content with material things and external presentation.   The peace of God is a true peace, an everlasting peace, a peace that is not rocked by death, failure, poor finance and a lack of romance. The peace of God is genuine and cannot be taken away.

Psalm 29 concludes with the psalmist praying that the Lord will not only give strength to his people, but also peace.

How peaceful is the life you lead? Do you present a picture of perfect peace, or are you torn up on the inside? My prayer for you today is that the Lord might bless you with true peace.

Psalm 29: 11 May the Lord give strength to his people! May the Lord bless his people with peace! [2]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Why is it sometimes difficult to find inner peace?
  2. What is it about Jesus that can teach the believer how to relax?
  3. How is the peace of God different than the peace of this world?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me your peace! Lord, grant me your strength. Lord, teach me to live my life in the “Eye of the storm”, but show me your peace. The pressure of people and the stress of situations can seem more than I can bear, but with your peace, I can do all things. Like a long arm descending from the balcony of eternity, let your peace fall fresh upon me. Fall fresh upon me and teach me to relax. Fall fresh upon me and calm me down. Fall fresh upon me, Jesus and teach me to rise above hurt, live through pain, and to forgive without malice. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III – “The Detroit River at Sunset” near Belle Isle (first natural light photo with my new camera)

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Jn 14:26–27). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 29:11). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.