“Death by Default”

DSC_5848
“Age and Youth”

There are a lot of ways to die. Some deaths are quiet. Some are violent. Some are by accident. Some are intentional. Some, I guess are due to old age. Some are enhanced because of neglect. The death I fear most is a death by default.

To me, death by default is a death that comes when a person gives up on life. For some it happens when the body is racked by various pains of the aging process and we stop exercising, stop pushing ourselves, and assume that there is no good end that can come from the life we lead, so we simply give up. I do not want to die and death where I have given up. I want to live every day to the fullest. I want to push my body, push my mind and push my love that every day might be full of fascination, anticipation and sensation.

I know I will one day die, but I do not want to go out with a whimper. I want to go out living, dreaming and fighting for the things and people that mean the most to me. How do you want to die? How do you want to live? In some respects we have no control over death, but we do have control over how we choose to live our lives. I know I will die, but I do not want to die by default. I want to die living, dreaming and fighting and believing that God has something more for me to do.

Deuteronomy 30: 19 I call heaven and earth to witness against you today that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Choose life so that you and your descendants may live, 20 loving the Lord your God, obeying him, and holding fast to him; for that means life to you and length of days, so that you may live in the land that the Lord swore to give to your ancestors, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about “Choosing life”?
  2. Are there ways we think we are “Choosing life, but actually set ourselves on a path that only leads to death, or hastens our death?
  3. How does our faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior take us from a path of death and destruction to a new walk that leads to life and life everlasting?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I want to live. Lord, I know that one day I shall die, but until that day, I pray that you will fill my bones with a fire for life that cannot be quenched. Help me to push my body, stimulate my mind and bless my spirit with anticipation and inner peace. I want to live life with fullness I want a life of joy. Create a fire within my soul that every day might be a day full of fascination, a day of fulfillment and a day of meaning, and every night might be a night of bliss and relaxation. Lord, help me to rise above illness and pain and cause me to rise above the temptation to choose a life of reduced expectations and reduced dreams. Lord, help me to live the best life possible. At every stage of life, at every age, from my youth to my old age, fill me with a burning desire to love life, live life and enjoy life with purpose, expectation and joy. Lord, teach me to choose life and not death. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Dt 30:19–20). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.