“Unfaithfulness”

DSC_5824
“Sanctuary” Beach, California

Unfaithfulness in love is tough because it often happens after a person has let their guard down in love long and wide enough to let another person take advantage of their feelings and the sensitivity of their heart. It is difficult to be hurt if you have your defenses up. By its very nature, unfaithfulness can only happen when we allow a person into our inner sanctum. We tell them things we would never share with others. We do personal, intimate, loving and tender things with them we would not dream of doing with other persons. Then, one day when you least expect it, you find out that your trust has been violated.

A third person or more is allowed into the inner sanctum by a spouse or significant other, and the next thing you know, you are forced to respond and react. Why would your love allow someone else into your bedroom and or body? Whey would your love tell them things you thought were personal and private between only the two of you?

In the Book of Hosea, the prophet is directed by God to “take a wife of whoredom.” The relationship between the prophet and his unfaithful wife becomes symbolic of the tortured relationship between God and the people of Israel. Hosea is mocked because of the relationship between him and wife. His response is that just as my wife has played the whore to me – you, Israel have played the whore to God! Listen to how the prophet Hosea turns his personal nightmare into an indictment against the people of Israel:

12 My people consult a piece of wood,

and their divining rod gives them oracles.

For a spirit of whoredom has led them astray,

and they have played the whore, forsaking their God.

13  They sacrifice on the tops of the mountains,

and make offerings upon the hills,

under oak, poplar, and terebinth, because their shade is good. [1]

(Chapter 4)

 

Eventfully, Hosea buys his wife back from the slave auction block. Her lovers have deserted her and no one wants her. A somewhat put out Hosea is directed by God to buy her and bring her back as his wife. I imagine their lives were never the same, but God put them back together. In like manner, if you are wrestling with unfaithfulness, my encouragement to you is that you give the Lord a chance to help you put your life back together again.

 

If you have messed up your marriage or loving relationship, I encourage you to beg for forgiveness and pray that the good Lord will help you to put your love on the right track. Understand that it will probably take a long time to heal what you have broken, but with the help of the Lord, all things are possible.

 

 

Hosea 1: When the Lord first spoke through Hosea, the Lord said to Hosea, “Go, take for yourself a wife of whoredom and have children of whoredom, for the land commits great whoredom by forsaking the Lord.” So he went and took Gomer daughter of Diblaim, and she conceived and bore him a son. [2]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How can the Lord help people work through unfaithfulness?
  2. Why is unfaithfulness so devastating and often difficult to work through?
  3. What advice would you share with people who are wrestling with unfaithfulness?

Prayer:

Lord, grant me the strength to work through the sting of unfaithfulness. Teach me to hold accountable those I care for in love. Show me how to forgive. Show me how to be angry but not be led into sin. Show me how to be civil, but still critical. Help me to think like you, live like you, and love like you. Lord, the disappointment, disgust, and shame I feel is almost more than I can bear. Grant me your strength that I may understand how to love, even though I have been hurt by a person I trusted, someone I believed in, and someone I thought would never ever let me down. Lord, I turn to you because I do not know where else I can go. The sun shines bright, but my spirit is low. The moon and the stars are like a canopy at night, but they cannot take away my sorrow. Encourage me. Lift my soul. Bless me to once again believe and hope in love. Pierce the heart of the one who has hurt me and cause them to love as you have taught us to love one another. Bless me this day as I carry this burden. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ho 4:12–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ho 1:2–3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.