DSC_5813

Bouncing Back From a Broken Heart

What do you say to a person who has been wounded in love? What do you say to the young woman who gives her heart and body to a fellow who is more attracted to her body than the inner workings of her mind? What do you say to the guy who has become disappointed with dating, discouraged with women who desired someone else and now wonders if there is something wrong with his very being as a human created by God?

In Paul’s letter to the believers in Christ in the city of Thessalonica I believe there are words of hope, reassurance and a road map to bouncing back from hurt feelings and a broken heart. What I hear Paul saying is that the way to bounce back from hurt, shame and disappointment is to maintain a positive spirit, do good to all, rejoice always, pray continually and give thanks in joy and sorrow. With this attitude, we develop the capacity to rise from sadness and continue to feel good about ourselves and move on think and act positive in all situations.

I encourage you to take a look at the following words of the Apostle Paul and ask yourself, how can this attitude help me to handle disappointment in love?

1 Thessalonians 5: 15 See that none of you repays evil for evil, but always seek to do good to one another and to all. 16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How might you use this Bible verse to help a person bounce back from a broken heart?
  2. What steps do you think a person must take to bounce back from a broken heart?
  3. What about our faith in Jesus Christ will help you to regain your self –confidence when your heart has been broken?

Prayer:

Lord, I need your reassurance. Lord, I need your direction. When I have opened my heart and allowed it to drown in dashed disappointment and despair, touch my spirit and rekindle self-confidence and self-love. Lord, teach me to choose wisely in who and how I love. Teach me to understand that not everyone I am attracted to is right for me. Lord, give me someone who loves me above everyone else. Lord, give me someone who wants to share my hopes, share my dreams, and share my frustration, fears and faith. Lord, give me a love that is real. Lord, help me to bounce back in love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (1 Th 5:15–18). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.