DSC_9367
“Flower peeking through” – Valencia, Philippines

A Resolution to the Lord

How many resolutions will you keep this year? Will you stop and start, or will you be able to press on and complete your commitment without quitting? A commitment to the Lord may seem extreme when what you really want to do is stop smoking, lying or going back on your word to others.

Yet, to me, a “Resolution to the Lord is where it all begins.   If the spiritual commitment is there, our emotional condition is not far behind. A person can make all the money in the world, but if their relationship with God is in shambles money will not mean a thing.

This year as you make your personal resolutions for a better and more productive life, I encourage you to first make a resolution to the Lord. Pray for his guidance, strength, mercy and love, and you will see the hand print of God moving in an active direction in your life. When God is with you, everything else is secondary. When God is in the picture everything else is like an automobile searching for a place to park. Park your “Car” with the Lord.   Give him your keys, your steering wheel, the gas pedal and brake pedal and God will do the rest.

Proverbs 16          The plans of the mind belong to mortals,

but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord.

2    All one’s ways may be pure in one’s own eyes,

but the Lord weighs the spirit.

3    Commit your work to the Lord,

and your plans will be established. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

 

  1. What is your secret to making and keeping resolutions for the mid- year?
  2. What is the significance of committing to the Lord first?

 

Prayer:

As I face the rising sun of a new year, when I think about the success and challenges of the year gone by, Lord help me to make and keep my resolutions. Lord, as I sit at the beginning of a brand new year, help me not to bite off more than I can chew. Grant me the wisdom to know what I can and cannot handle. Lord, the last year blew by like a hurricane. The New Year has started with high hopes. In you I see possibility. In you I see the hope of new opportunities and new directions. I commit my faith to you.   In you I commit completely.   In you I commit my heart.   Because of you, I commit you my love.

 

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Pr 16:1–3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.