sierra leone school and beach 007
School Children in Sierra Leone – 2006

God has a future Hope For You!

As you consider the year which is ending and the year that will unfold, one word I have found from the Book of Proverbs is that God has hope and a future for each of us. God does not want anyone to be poor. God has not planned that any person should live an unfulfilled, miserable, unsatisfying life. God has a future hope for each of us. God knows what you want. God also knows what you need. God will not live your life for you, but God does have a future hope and plan for your life.

God wants you to succeed. God wants you to be happy. God does not want you to be depressed. God does not want you to suffer. God wants you to have enough money to accomplish the things you need to do. God does not want you to be hungry. God does not want you to be thirsty. God does not want you to be cold and confused.

God has a plan for you. God has a hope for you. God can envision a better life for you. The question is this: are you and I prepared to do what God wants us to do to enjoy the best life right now?

Proverbs 23: 17      Do not let your heart envy sinners, but always continue in the fear of the Lord. 18     Surely there is a future, and your hope will not be cut off. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the future hope God has for you?
  2. What are the greatest distractions in understanding what plans God has for you?

 

Prayer:

God, help me to understand the plans you have for my life. As I end one year and sit on the verge of a new year, help me to have a better understanding of the hopes you have for my future. Help me not to be turned around and envious of those who cheat and lie their way to success. Remind me that you have a plan for my life, a hope for my life and a future you have envisioned for my life. Help me to make good choices and balance my life in love as I remember the poor, the hungry and the depressed. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Pr 23:17–18). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.