DSC_5498
Alaska

May He Grant You Your Heart’s Desire, and Fulfill All Your Plans!

The night before Christmas I prayed for families and individuals who came to church for personal and family prayers. Surrounded by deacons and my associate minister we began at 3:45 PM and prayed continuously until shortly after 9 PM. The prayer service has grown over the years. This tradition began when my father was the senior minister and I was his associate minister. It would begin at 6 PM and go to around 8 PM. Some years I have actually ended the prayer service at 10 PM.

I like this prayer service because it gives me an opportunity to connect with the church membership on a personal level. Because I have pastored the church for several years, my knowledge of often rather personal and intimate details of several of the person’s life-stories is pretty deep. I have prayed for barren women to become pregnant and lived to see our prayers answered. I have prayed for those who have served time in prison and lived long enough to see them become responsible members of society with beautiful families. I find myself praying for the dreams and hopes of my members to come true.

This year I found myself adding an additional prayer for many of the persons who came forward. It is a simple prayer that asks the Lord to grant not only what persons are hoping and praying for, but even much more than what they can imagine at this present time. We think we know what we want, and for the most part I think that what we want is good. However, I am convinced that God has so much more for us than we can imagine at this present time. Our vision is limited often to our relatively narrow world view. So, I pray that we might be receptive to the expansive vision of God.

Psalm 20: 4  May he grant you your heart’s desire, and fulfill all your plans. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the Lord granting you your heart’s desire and to fulfill all your plans?
  2. Can you imagine the Lord exceeding the plans that you have made for yourself?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me my heart’s desire. Lord help me to fulfill all of my plans. Lord, open me and humble me that I might receive blessings you have planned for me that I could never imagine. My vision is expansive, but yours is greater. My plans are larger, but yours are larger. You see things I cannot imagine. Help me with my dreams. Encourage me to think big, act big, and love big. Bless me now with your vision and desire. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 20:4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.