“Put Away all Bitterness, Wrath and Anger…”

DSC_0179
Looking through a window in Japan

There are times when people will make you angry. The Apostle Paul teaches us that anger is human and understandable, but you and I should never allow anger to get the better of us. In Ephesians 4, Paul talks about not letting your anger draw you into sin.

There are persons who will go out of their way to wave their power over others – sometimes I think just to reassure themselves that they have a little power. When I read the words of Paul, I believe that what he is saying is that you and I need to have the courage to fight back, yet at the same time not allow ourselves to devolve into a similar state of mind. Sometimes this is easier said than done, but it is possible.

Ephesians 4: 31 Put away from you all bitterness and wrath and anger and wrangling and slander, together with all malice, 32 and be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ has forgiven you[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. After reading this scripture what does it make you think about the way you process your anger when others have attempted to take advantage of you?
  2. In a preceding verse, Paul says be angry but not drawn into sin. What does it mean to you to be angry but not sin?

 

Prayer:

Lord, help me with my anger. When others have taken advantage of my kindness and disappointed me with their thoughtlessness, help me to channel my thoughts and feelings in a positive manner. Show me how to be genuine and authentic in my anger without allowing my feelings to draw me into sin. Lord, I love you and want to be closer to you, but sometimes I have allowed others to get under my skin, caused me to want to use bad language and slip away from you. Lord, I want to live my life on a higher plane. Lord, I want to think right, act right and do right, but sometimes I have allowed the actions of others to make me angry. Bless me now with a peaceful and gracious spirit. Guard my tongue and my touch. Grant me your patience and kindness as I seek new life in thee. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

Join me for a Bible Study Discussion on the subject of “Angels of Advent” this  evening at 7 PM at  the Plymouth  United Church of Christ – 600 E. Warren Ave. Detroit, Michigan 48201

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Eph 4:31–32). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.