DSC_0539 internet version
On the beach near Monterrey, California

Lord, Just Tell Me What You Want Me to Do

Have you ever gone to a meeting or program and asked yourself, “Why in the world am I here?” I tend to be a giving person. Helping people is in my nature, but there have been times and situations when I have had to look back and think for a moment, “Why in the world am I here?” Is there not something else I could have done with my time, money and creative energy that could have been used for a more positive purpose?”

Invariably, even in those situations a blessing appears and it all seems to make sense. But, the thought often pops up in my head and I say a little prayer to the Lord and I ask, “Lord, why do you let me keep bumping my head up against the wall? Just tell me or show me what you want me to do and I will try to get it done – if I am going down the wrong road, nudge me, bump me, even give me a gentle slap on the cheek and bring me back to where I should be.”

It is in those times when I think back to the words of Job when in his faithfulness to God he just cannot understand why so many bad things are happening to him: his children are killed, his animals die, his buildings are burned up, and he cannot see what sin or sins he has committed that would deserve the calamities that are falling upon him. I have not experienced the suffering of Job, but what I have experienced is being in situations where I ask the Lord, “Why did you bring me here?   What is the lesson you want me to learn from this?” In those moments I think I can relate a little to the questions of Job as he tries to understand what is going on in his life.

Job 6: 24       “Teach me, and I will be silent; make me understand how I have gone wrong. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Has there ever been a time in your life when you just wished that the Lord would tell you directly what to do? Why?
  2. Why do you think Job is asking God to tell him what he has done wrong?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I do not ask for much. I do not have all of the answers. There are things I do not have to do and places I do not have to go. There are people I do not have to be around. Show me what to do, what to say, and who to bless with my time, money, creativity and love. Lord, I am prepared to go to the ends of the earth for you. Point me and I will jump. Show me and I will speak. Lord, simplify my life. Lord, take away the complications. Sometimes there are things that I do not understand. Strip away the clouds and fog of misunderstanding and grant me a clear vision of what you would have me to do. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Job 6:24). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.