Whoever Does Not Love Does Not Know God

224
Angela Leslie’s Sweet Potato Pie

Sometimes love will fool you.   You love a person. You want this person really badly. Sometimes we want a person so much that we look beyond the obvious. If a person is self-centered, if a person is impatient and unkind, if a person is nice to you some of the time, but on other occasions you cannot find them or track them down, you have to wonder, do they really love you. Beyond this, John says that, “Whoever does not love does not know God.”

Some people will profess their love for God. John says that if you do not love others you do not know God. John wrote that God is love. If God is love then believers in God are required to love.

The next question is what does love look like? If a person is willing to spend money on you, wine and dine you, but then calls you out of your name, beats you, and humiliates you in public and in private, is that really love?

1 John 4: Whoever does not love does not know God, for God is love[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How do you know if a person does not love?
  2. How might a person possess some characteristics of love, but still not love?
  3. How is our love for others connected to knowing God?

 

Prayer:

Lord, teach me to love. Teach me to be patient and kind. Teach me to be tender in touch and in word. Help me to rise about jealousy, envy and strife. Lord, clarify my vision. Help me to know you. Help me to understand your ways, your vision and your love. Help me to know you and to love you. Teach me to love others as I would love and be loved by you. Grant me a sharp sense of discernment so that I might understand the difference between the motions of love and love that is real. Bless me and keep me in the bosom of your love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III – Angela Leslie’s “Sweet Potato Pie”

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at http://nicholashooodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (1 Jn 4:8). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.