Dark, Delightful, Delicious, Juicy, Tender Tasteful Turkey at Thanksgiving

Nancy Page's Turkey at thanksgiving
Nancy Page’s Turkey at thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is over, but I am still thinking about the Turkey. My mother in law went somewhere over the rainbow and found a great turkey. The crown jewel of the Thanksgiving meal, the turkey made its exit from the oven, sat on the throne we call the kitchen counter and waited to be sliced by Noah. Each family member has their own preference. Some like the white breast. I like the dark meat. This year the turkey seemed especially juicy, tender, tasteful, delicious and delightful. I had seconds and a sandwich the day after at lunch.

I know some people think eating meat is a bad thing. Actually, at this point in my life I prefer chicken and fish, but I also like a little beef, pork chops and turkey. I don’t eat much pork because it seems to make my fingers swell. For me, turkey is just right – especially the dark meat. Those who do not eat meat make me think of a song about a man who eat everything but meat:   Henry Jones –

SAVE THE BONES FOR HENRY JONES

(Danny Barker / Vernon Lee aka Michael H. Goldson)

Nat King Cole & Johnny Mercer

 

 

We’re gonna have a supper

We’ll eat some food that’s rare

And at the head of the table

We’ll place brother Henry’s chair

Invite all the local big dogs

We’ll laugh and talk and eat

But we’ll save the bones for Henry Jones

‘Cause Henry don’t eat no meat

 

Today I’ll go to market

Buy up a lotta fish

Well, that will thrill brother Henry

‘Cause fish is his special dish

Get a large can of molasses

Have something really sweet

But we’ll save the bones for Henry Jones

‘Cause Henry don’t eat no meat

 

Henry is not a drinker

He rarely takes a nip

He don’t need a napkin

‘Cause the things he eats don’t drip – blip!

One day we had a banquet

It really was a bake

They started off with short ribs

Then finished off with steak

But when the feast was over

Brother Henry just kept his seat

And we served the bones to Henry Jones

‘Cause Henry don’t eat no meat

 

Our banquet was most proper

Right down to demitasse

From soup to lox and bagels

And pheasant under glass – class!

We thought the chops were mellow

He said his chops were beat – reet!

We served the bones to Henry Jones

‘Cause Henry don’t eat no meat

He’s an egg man

Henry don’t eat no meat

He loves a pullet

Henry don’t eat no meat

A vegetarian

Henry?

Coming mother!

Soup’s on

 

I realize someone reading this might be turned off because they do not eat meat. However, this is what I believe: if the good Lord made it we should view it as part of God’s creation which has been prepared for our sustenance. The early Christian Church had deep divisions regarding what foods were appropriate for a believer to eat. The Apostle Paul took the position that he did not want people to be shut out from the faith because of what they eat. To him, there were much more important things to focus on, starting with love. Take a look at what Paul has to say about eating meat:

Romans 14 Welcome those who are weak in faith, but not for the purpose of quarreling over opinions. Some believe in eating anything, while the weak eat only vegetables. Those who eat must not despise those who abstain, and those who abstain must not pass judgment on those who eat; for God has welcomed them. Who are you to pass judgment on servants of another? It is before their own lord that they stand or fall. And they will be upheld, for the Lord is able to make them stand. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about food and faith?
  2. What do you think about Paul’s theological attitude towards eating meat?
  3. How can a person’s attitude about food bring them closer or farther away from God?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you for everything I eat. I thank you for the vegetables. I thank you for fruit. I thank you for fish and chicken, pork and beef but I also thank you for turkey. I thank you for the white meat of the breast, but I also thank you for the dark meat of the legs and thighs. Lord, teach me not to judge others because of what they eat. Lord, increase my faith. Lord, draw me closer to you. I give you the glory. I give you the honor. I give you the praise. All things come from you. All things belong to you. All things return to you. I thank you for the food you have allowed me to prepare and share and eat. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ro 14:1–4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.