DSC_3671
Nancy Page’s Sweet Potato Pie

The Last Piece of Pie

After family, the best part of thanksgiving to me is the sweet potato pie. My mother in law makes a great sweet potato pie and tops it off with whipped cream. I try to discipline myself in the amount of pie that I eat, but it is hard because the pie is so sweet and the whipped cream takes it over the top.

In Psalm 119 verse 105, David says that the Word of God is sweet to his taste because it provides him with wisdom. That same wisdom causes him to “hate every false way…”

I do not know how you would describe the Word of God, but David was clear: the Word of God is sweeter than my mother in law’s sweet potato pie. It is sweeter than her apple pie, minced meat pie, cherry pie and all other pies whipped cream heaped on top.

I encourage you to familiarize yourself with the Word of God: feast on it, ingest it, digest it and let it guide you in all you say and do.

Psalm 119: 103       How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! 104      Through your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How sweet would you describe the Word of God?
  2. What are your thoughts regarding the Word of God as sweet?

 

Prayer:

Lord, your word is sweet to my taste. Your word is sweeter than honey and more delightful than pie. Through your Word I learn the ways of faith the truth in life. Lord, you make me feel good about life and good about myself. Bless me with your Spirit. Bless me with your power. Bless me with your love. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Learn more about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 119:103–104). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.