DSC_3458The Blessing of Food

What prayers do you say before you eat? Do you thank God for the hands that prepare the food? Do you thank God for those who serve the food? Do you thank God that you have the ability to afford the food?

Before Noah and his Ark take off in the flooded waters of his world, god commanded him to take food sufficient to feed himself, his family and the animals. God told him to “Take with you every kind of food that is eaten…” I assume that this command meant every kind of food that is eaten: fruit, nuts, vegetables, starches, grains, and yes, even meat: chicken, beef, pork and fish.

As I surveyed the Thanksgiving table, my mind went back to Noah and the food he carried with him on to the Ark so that he might be able to sustain life. What do you think Noah’s prayer went like as his world flooded, but he, his family and the animals were able to preserve life?

Genesis 6: 21 Also take with you every kind of food that is eaten, and store it up; and it shall serve as food for you and for them.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the command of God to take food on to the Ark to serve for himself, his family and the animals on board?
  2. What prayers do you say before you eat?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you for food.   For every vegetable, for every fruit, for every starch, meat and fish, I give you thanks. I thank you for the hands that prepare the food that I eat. I thank you for a hot stove that does not require wood or charcoal. I thank you for every time you have taken away my hunger. I thank you for nourishment. I thank you for fulfilment. I thank you for the pleasure I feel when I share a meal with others. Lord, I thank you for food, but most of all I thank you that you care enough for me that I should be sustained in each and every way.   Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III – Brussels Sprouts at Thanksgiving made by Sharla Sullivan Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ge 6:20–21). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.