The Vision Awaits its Appointed Time

DSC_2814
Sunrise on the Atlantic Ocean, Daytona Beach, Florida

Patience can be difficult. We have a sense of the future: what we want to see happen and where we see ourselves headed, but sometimes things do not happen as fast as we would like. The prophet Habakkuk speaks about the need for a change, but things are not happening fast enough. The reassurance of God which is spoken through the prophet is this: God has a vision for each of us; sometimes the vison seems to tarry; third, you and I must be patient to wait for God’s vision to come to reality.

Habakkuk 2: 3        For there is still a vision for the appointed time; it speaks of the end, and does not lie. If it seems to tarry, wait for it; it will surely come, it will not delay. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about waiting for a vision to become reality?
  2. What are the signs that what you are seeing is actually a vision?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I seek you vision. Speak to me and tell me those things I should know. Lord, I can feel your presence. In little ways you have provided me with a glimpse of the future, and the future looks good. You smile and the sun begins to shine. You nod and the world seems to stand straight. You wink and I feel that everything will be all right. Grant me insight that I might have a sense of what I should expect. Grant me internal drive that I might do those things that are important to you. Grant me patience so that when I have done all that I can do that will learn to wait, trust and hope that your will be done. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Learn about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.puccdetroit.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Hab 2:3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.