Prayer for Direction

178.jpgHave you ever wondered what God is leading you to do? Have you ever prayed just to have the Lord tell you what God’s plan for your life might be? When I was between elementary school and high school there were times when in the middle of the night when my family lived on Fullerton Street between Holmur and Petosky on the west side of Detroit, I would wake up thirsty and walk down the stairs, step by step in the hallway to the pitch black kitchen. With each room/space that I entered I would flick on the light switch. Before I reached each light switch I would pray a little prayer that went something like this:   “Lord, I know you are in here. Protect me. Don’t let anyone hurt me. Just let me make it to the refrigerator to get a glass of cold water. I believe you. I trust you. Just let me get that cold water and do not let any bad person be in that dark kitchen waiting to hurt me. Direct me and I will follow.

I think a prayer for direction is always a good prayer. It is not unusual for a person to be a little unsure of what to do with their life. One of my daily prayers is simply this:   “Lord, what is most important – what should I do first?”   Tonight I spoke with two different persons at two different times about changing the paradigm of their lives. In so many words I tried to tell them that I believe one of the great challenges in life is to figure out how to maximize one’s time, fulfil your life with meaningful activity, and figure out what to cut loose and what to hold on to and live life to the fullest. Hence, the importance of praying to God for guidance and direction is a most important prayer to pray. Psalm 32 has a great verse to help us center our prayers for the direction of God. In verse eight, the writer tells us that if we will listen God will instruct and teach us, counsel us and keep us within the watchful eye of the Lord.

Psalm 32: 8  I will instruct you and teach you the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it mean to be directed by God?
  2. What would you tell a person who is having difficulty discerning the direction of God from other voices and messages that they hear?

 

Prayer:

Lord, today I seek your direction. I admit I do not have all of the answers. I admit that sometimes I have allowed myself to be down and depressed when I could not see the “Forest for the trees.” I pray to you now for guidance. I pray for direction. Show me what you would have me to do. I ask no questions. Lead and I will follow. Speak and I will listen. Clap your hands and I will shout. Bless me and I will praise you. Give me your direction and I will give you my heart. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Deacon Mike Daniels – “Baptism in the Detroit  River”

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations written and taken by Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 32:8). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.