Those Who Know Your Name Put Their Trust In You

Cross and Altar - Thessaloniki, Greece
Cross and Altar – Thessaloniki, Greece

Psalm 9 is labeled a “Psalm of David.” Although he is remembered most often as the greatest of all of the Israelite kings, we must also remember that much of the life of David was either on the run from Saul, fighting other enemies of Israel and fighting his own internal demons of doubt and despair. In this Psalm, David rejoices that those who sought his destruction were swallowed up in defeat. He gives continual thanks to God for every blessing, every victory, and every near defeat.   David is without doubt that it is God and God only who has secured his steps and his victories.

Unfortunately, there may be times in our lives when people and situations might cause one to wonder where God is and if God can be found what God could do to take away our misery, hurt and pain.

Let me make this a little more plain. It is difficult to explain illness and death. It can be hard if not impossible to understand why love may not work out, employment may be difficult and why someone may be able to get away with breaking into your home and walking away with your hard earned possessions.

Life can make a person cynical about God. King David found God as a youth. The faith of his youth stayed with him until his old age. One of the reasons I support the Sunday School and other youth activities at church is that I believe once a children is introduced to the Lord they will have a difficult time leaving Jesus.

Psalm 9: 10   And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it take to put your trust in God?
  2. How does one learn the name of the Lord?
  3. How does the believer seek the Lord?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I put my trust in you. I cannot see the way, but I know you are there. Sometimes it feels like the water will rise above my head, but you have never let me drown. The waves are high, but you are higher. The depth is deep, but you are deeper. Lord, I know you and put my trust in you. You have never forsaken me and when I have sought you, you were always there. Bless me. Keep me. Strengthen me. Hold me in you care. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and savior I pray.   Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III – altar and cross, Thessaloniki, Greece

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries – http://www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 9:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.