Salt and Peace

Sunrise over the Port Orange, Florida River
Sunrise over the Port Orange, Florida River

Like many, I am horrified at the shootings and bombings that happened in Paris yesterday. I think of all of the times I go to a restaurant to eat out or a public venue like a concert or sporting event in a stadium. When I think of the innocent persons who were gunned downed, in many cases like sitting ducks, the sting of their deaths sucks the wind from my wings.

At some point people of faith must strive to find common ways to be a peace with one another. I do not believe God put us on this good earth to go after one another like animals in a caged fight to the death. I believe that the purpose God has set before each of us is to live life to the fullest and to have fun and to help those who cannot help themselves.

We are literally the “Salt of the earth”, but in some ways we have lost our saltiness. If you are not touched by the loss of life, you have lost your saltiness. If you are so busy busting your behind to make a buck, that you have no time for the poor, the hurting and the sick, you have lost your saltiness. If your politics is so narrow that you lump innocent people trying to enjoy life with whatever drives you to want to fight and kill, you have lost your saltiness. Are you so into your own issues that you have no time to love? Where is the salt of your life?

I encourage you today to strive to maintain the salt of life and give glory to God in heaven and in the process, seek peace with everyone you meet.

Mark 9: 50 Salt is good; but if salt has lost its saltiness, how can you season it? Have salt in yourselves, and be at peace with one another.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Why do you think Jesus compared salt to the essence of life?
  2. What do you make of Jesus using the image of inner saltiness and peace with others?

 

Prayer:

Lord, teach me to be at peace with myself and at peace with others. Grant me confidence because of the person that I am and acceptance of others for the persons that they are. Help me to rejoice in diversity, revel in uniqueness, and respond in love in all that I do. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Mk 9:50). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.