Finding Balance in Your Life

"Bird Balancing on Daytona Beach at Sunrise"
“Bird Balancing on Daytona Beach at Sunrise”

Some people excel in some things part of the time. Others are impressive on an irregular, hap-hazard kind of way. Yet, for me, one of my major goals is to always seek balance in all things that I do. I want to do it all and have it all, in the process, my goal is to often have joy in the process.

I want to be social and spiritual, professional yet still prophetic, financial and funny.   I strive to relate to and inspire children, but at the same time I also want to be gentle and kind, aggressive and passive, neat and cluttered- all at the same time.

The Apostle Paul, while under house arrest in Rome writes a tremendous letter to the church at Philippi. Understanding that the church is concerned for his well-being, Paul transposes or flips the conversation from a focus on his well-being and treatment to a discussion on pastoral issues that the Philippians faced. Rising above the temptation to dwell upon the sad and fearful things that were blowing his way, Paul shared with his readers that he had learned how to balance his life, to enjoy the best of life, but also in his poverty, how to enjoy and make the most of every day.

Eventually, Paul was beheaded for his faith. He lived and died leading a balanced life. You and I are the richer because of his faith, his writing, and his desire and courage to strive to lead a balanced life. I encourage you to read the following words of Paul and ask yourself, “How far am I from leading the kind of balanced life that Paul ultimately attained?” What must I do to be saved?

Philippians 4: 11 Not that I am referring to being in need; for I have learned to be content with whatever I have. 12 I know what it is to have little, and I know what it is to have plenty. In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being well-fed and of going hungry, of having plenty and of being in need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the difficulties in achieving a balanced life?
  2. In seeking a balanced life where should a person begin?
  3. What role does and can God perform as we seek balance in our lives?
  4. What can we learn from Paul’s letter to the church at Philippi regarding the “Balanced life”?

 

Prayer:

Lord, show me how to achieve balance in my life. Teach me the secret to inner peace, even when so much in my life is confusing and upsetting. Jesus, help me to balance my personal spirituality with my professional and family life. Show me how to enjoy the company of the poor as well as the rich. Bless me with the ability to keep my life in perspective. Help me to be tenacious in my desire to succeed, tender in my capacity to love, thoughtful in my efforts to understand and to be understood, and patient and gentle in how I interact with others. Though Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Php 4:11–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.