If “Riding Clean” is the Opposite of “Riding Dirty,” how can I “Ride Clean” and Not be a “Goody Two-Shoes?”

Fall Colors in Detroit, Michigan
Fall Colors in Detroit, Michigan

I preached yesterday about, “Riding Dirty.” This is when a person can function in life, but is always concerned that the truth may expose them for not being as smart, rich, good, or as interested in the Word of God as others might think. One of the motivations for my message was taken from the popular hip-hop song several years ago: “Riding Dirty.” Just in case you did not hear the sermon or if you forgot the words, here they are –

By “Chamillionaire”…

They see me rollin
They hatin
Patrolling they tryin to catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty
My music so loud
I’m swangin
They hopin that they gon catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty
Tryin to catch me ridin dirty

Police think they can see me lean
I’m tint so it ain’t easy to be seen
When you see me ride by they can see the glean
And my shine on the deck and the TV screen
Ride with a new chick, she like hold up
Next to the playstation controller is a full clip and my pistola
Turn a jacker into a coma
Girl you ain’t know, I’m crazy like Krayzie Bone
Just tryin…

Last night I spoke with my friend, Atty. Darwyn Fair. He recounted a conversation he and his wife, Volante had earlier in the day.   Their concern was not that they did not understood the multiplicity of ways a person might “Ride Dirty.” This would include much more than expired licensed tags, plates, expired insurance and so much more. Their concern was more base:   How can a person, “Ride Clean” and not be a “Goody Two-Shoes”? They did tell me that they thought I had “connected the dots” on Sunday between “Riding Dirty and “Riding Clean, “ but were concerned that a Christian who seeks the good life might miss out on so having fun. After giving a little thought to their concern I settled upon the following scripture from the first letter of Peter..

1 Peter 3: Finally, all of you, have unity of spirit, sympathy, love for one another, a tender heart, and a humble mind. Do not repay evil for evil or abuse for abuse; but, on the contrary, repay with a blessing. It is for this that you were called—that you might inherit a blessing. 10 For

“Those who desire life

and desire to see good days,

let them keep their tongues from evil

and their lips from speaking deceit;

11 let them turn away from evil and do good;

let them seek peace and pursue it.

12 For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous,

and his ears are open to their prayer.

But the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.” [1]

The more I consider life, the more I have come to believe that part of the sacred purpose of life is simply to have fun. So many Christians wake up and go through the day with a sad face and look like they are struggling under the weight of the world. We need to let go, even as we strive to live the best lives possible.

Let me break it down a little more clearly. I do not think the Lord will banish a believer to Hell, just because they had a drink, or even broke traffic and vice and morality laws. I think what the Lord is really looking for is did we walk with mercy and justice and in humility before our God. Jesus wants to know did we love our neighbor as we loved ourselves. So, I believe that the short answer to Volante and Darwyn’s question is this: Yes, you can “Ride Clean” and still have fun.

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How can a person follow the laws of Jesus and still have fun?
  2. What is it about Jesus that teaches believers new yay to have fun?
  3. What encouragement to you offer to sad-faced believers in Jesus?

 

Prayer:

Lord, teach me to live the good life, but still know how to have fun. Teach me to enjoy the best of life without degrading myself or those around me. Help to understand my limits while at the same time living a free, full and fun-filled life. Lord, make me your witness. Lord, make me your servant. Lord, make me your friend.   Take away my sins and show me the path to new life in thee. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (1 Pe 3:8–12). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.