Seasons of Life

Japanese Maple tree at my home in the Fall Season
Japanese Maple tree at my home in the Fall Season

One of the great blessings in life is to simply live through its seasons. Just as summer follows spring and winter follows the fall, as we transition from one age and stage of life to the other we increasingly learn more about life and the world in which we live.

I am so grateful to be alive and at this stage of life. Every point of my life has been interesting, full and fun. The promise that God gave to Noah after the waters of the great flood subsided is just as reassuring today: that the seasons will change and day and night will not cease. Another way of saying it is that life will continue. You and I are charged with the responsibility of cultivating and even enhancing the quality of life, but God has also promised to support and bless this good earth.

Genesis 8: 22         As long as the earth endures, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night, shall not cease.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does this scripture mean to you?
  2. What are your thoughts regarding the seasons of life?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you for your presence. You were with me in my youth. You continue to walk with me as my body and life transition through the seasons. Your wisdom is wonderful. Your patience has been precious. Your protection is like a net of safety. Your power is unmatchable. As the days lengthen, walk with me. Teach me your ways and talk with me. Touch my spirit. Energize my desire to make the most of each day and the most of life. Continue to light a fire of excitement in everything that I do. May each day be fresh and stimulating. Show me how to make the most of the moment and teach me to enjoy the night as well as the day. Lord, I thank you for your presence. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ge 8:22). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.