“The River of God is full of Water”

Sunrise on the Atlantic Ocean at Port Orange, Fl
Sunrise on the Atlantic Ocean at Port Orange, Fl

Last night I googled the time the sun would rise in Port Orange, Florida. I have been staying in Port Orange since Tuesday of this week. Monday evening I led a workshop on prayer in Atlanta, Georgia at the 1st Congregational Church UCC. where my good friend, the Rev. Dr. Dwight Andrews is the pastor. Tuesday morning I drove to Port Orange to stay with Maria and Rev. John Long. Wednesday evening I took my workshop on prayer to the Tubman-King Community Church in Daytona Beach where John is the pastor. This Sunday I will preach at 8AM and 10:30 AM at the Church of the Open Door in Miami where Joaquin Willis is the pastor. Following worship I will be signing books.

Early this morning John and I drove to the Atlantic Ocean and the beach at Port Orange so I could photograph the early morning sunrise. I was not disappointed. The colors, shadows, swelling water, flat sandy beach, birds without a care, all caused me to reflect upon the majesty of God. The ocean is so big. You and I are so small. We cannot contain the water of the ocean. The power of the ocean prompted me to think about Psalm 65 verses 9 and following. In this passage of scripture David reflects about how God” visits the earth and waters it.” I looked at the ocean this morning and felt incredibly small. I look the rising sun and come away with the sense that God is real, God is powerful, God is bigger that God is greater than anything I can imagine.

Psalm 65: 9  You visit the earth and water it,

you greatly enrich it;

the river of God is full of water;

you provide the people with grain,

for so you have prepared it.

10  You water its furrows abundantly,

settling its ridges,

softening it with showers,

and blessing its growth. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What images of God do you see in water?
  2. What do you feel is the responsibility God expects of humans regarding nature?

 

Prayer:

O, God, I look at the ocean and I feel so small. The waves are strong, the depth is deep. I see the sun breaking through the clouds. Night is slipping and morning is rising. I see your handiworks in the clouds. I feel your presence in the power of the water. Lord, let your blessings fall fresh on me. Shower the thirsty land with the refreshing dew drops of your tender love. Embrace us with your love. Enfold us with your all-encompassing grace. Help me to be a better person because of my faith in you. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III: Atlantic Ocean at daybreak, Port Orange, Florida

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood can be found at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Note: I am in the midst of a Southern Book Tour and am in Port Orange, Florida today. Sunday, November 1, 2015, I will be preaching at the Church of the Open Door, Florida and following worship will be autographing copies of my new book, “The Test, The Strength, the Endurance and the Way Out.”

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 65:9–10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.