Be Strong and Bold!

Noah P. Hood, best man at his brother Nathan's wedding
Noah P. Hood, best man at his brother Nathan’s wedding

My message today is about facing your future with strength and boldness. There comes a point in each of our lives where we are presented with an opportunity to expand upon our horizons or to cower in fear. This is exactly the choice that the ancient Israelite community faced as the life of Moses was winding down. The people could see the Promised Land, but they were unsure that they had the strength to be successful in entering and taking it. The word of God through Moses to the people was straight forward, Be strong and bold; have no fear or dread of them, because it is the Lord your God who goes with you; he will not fail you or forsake you.” [1]

Evidently, some of the people had second thoughts. Some wondered if they as a people were strong enough. Perhaps they wondered if God would stick with them through the entire ordeal. Yet, through it all, God tries to reassure them that they will never be forsaken and kicked to the proverbial curb of history.

The Word of God still rings true for you and me today. The young person who contemplates transitioning from an apartment to a house, from a renter to an owner, needs to “Be strong and bold,” The person who works so hard to make ends meet and decides that it is time for them to learn a new skill set and branch out into a different career should receive courage from Moses: “Be strong and bold.” The person who cowers in fear because their lover or spouse is abusive needs the encouragement of God to Moses: “Be strong and bold” – get up and leave or at least check the abuser and pray for them. I encourage you to read the Bible verse again and ask yourself, “Am I living my life with strength and boldness?” “Is there another level I can rise to if I am to lead the life God has called me to lead?”

Deuteronomy 31: Be strong and bold; have no fear or dread of them, because it is the Lord your God who goes with you; he will not fail you or forsake you.” [2]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are the root qualities required to have courage?
  2. What does our faith inform us about having courage?

 

Prayer:

Lord, make me strong. Lord, make me bold. Lord, grant me your wisdom. Lord, grant me power and grace, mercy and courage, peace and patience, aggressiveness and tenderness. Lord, grant me the strength to be forward and the patience to wait. Make me strong and make me bold as I work for a better day for a world of justice and equality, prosperity and peace. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More on the Ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

  • See and hear Rev. Hood this evening at 6 PM at the Tubman- King Community Church in Daytona Beach, Florida with a conversation about his new book of original prayers and photographs entitled, “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out.”

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Dt 31:6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Dt 31:6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.