People Who Love the Word of God

Monday Night Bible Discussion at 1st Congregational Church UCC in Atlanta, Ga
Monday Night Bible Discussion at 1st Congregational Church UCC in Atlanta, Ga

Last night, Monday evening, I led a Bible discussion at the First Congregational UCC in Atlanta, GA as part of the beginning of a Southern Book Tour for my new book, “The Test, the Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out.” As I looked at the faces of the 18 persons who attended the Bible Discussion group, I thought to myself, “How wonderful to find a group of persons who love to read the Word of God; study the Word of God and reflect upon the Word of God?”   There is a value in knowing the Word of God, living the word of God and doing the Word of God.

As you look at the following bible verse ask yourself “How is the word of God like a Lamp and a light to my feet and path?”                                               002

Psalm 119: 105Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it mean to have a love for the Word of God?
  2. How does the Word of God serve as “A light to my feet…”?

 

Prayer:

          O God I love your Word.  I read your Word in the morning. I read your Word in the afternoon. I read your Word in the midnight hour. I love your prophecy. I love your promises. I love your truth, your grace and your mercy. I love the way you redeem the lost. I love the way you reward the faithful. I love to read of the depth of your love. Lord, I promise to continue to read your Word, every day and every night. Speak to me through the reading of your Word. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photos by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 119:105). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.