My Last Meal as a Single Man – A Single with Cheese from Wendy’s!

02839 years ago, Denise and I were married. On the way to the wedding ceremony, Camille and Gerald Baily and I stopped at the original Wendy’s in Columbus, Ohio. I ordered a single with cheese. The three of us laughed as I joked that this was my last meal as a single man.

031Late Friday night, Leonard Davis, Taylor Segue, Denise and me stopped at a Wendy’s near Knoxville, Tenn. We were in the midst of a driving trip from Detroit to Atlanta. I was beginning the Southern Tour for my book, “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out.” Atlanta was our destination. I would be preaching there at the 1st Congregational Church UCC, and then leading a Bible Discussion on Monday evening, which is later this evening. As we entered the Wendy’s I recounted my recollection of the stop on the way to the St. Paul AME Church in Columbus, Ohio. In honor of my wedding day I had to order a “Single with Cheese,”

Denise and I have been married a long time. I very rarely stop to get a “Single Hamburger with Cheese.” My diet has changed, but even so, every time I pass a Wendy’s I think about my last meal as a single man and how that simple hamburger has served as a reference point for commitment in marriage for me all of these years.

Matthew 19Some Pharisees came to him, and to test him they asked, “Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife for any cause?” He answered, “Have you not read that the one who made them at the beginning ‘made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’? So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate.”[1]

Genesis 2: 21 So the Lord God caused a deep sleep to fall upon the man, and he slept; then he took one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. 22 And the rib that the Lord God had taken from the man he made into a woman and brought her to the man. 23 Then the man said,

“This at last is bone of my bones

and flesh of my flesh;

this one shall be called Woman,

for out of Man this one was taken.”

24 Therefore a man leaves his father and his mother and clings to his wife, and they become one flesh. 25 And the man and his wife were both naked, and were not ashamed. [2]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it mean for a man to “Cleave unto his wife”?
  2. What do these passages of scripture say to you about marriage?

 

 

Prayer:

Lord, teach me today the importance of making and keeping commitments. Teach me to be faithful. Teach me to respect. Teach me to Love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photos by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

Next stop on the Southern Book Tour by Rev. Hood is Wednesday, October 28, 2015 at the Tubman King Community Church in Daytona Beach, Florida at 6PM.

Book cover
Book cover

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Mt 19:3–6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ge 2:21–25). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.