Vindicate Me O Lord!

com.rocktide.servlet.ShowAsset;jsessionid=4F7F48AA57919F1B9EFD302007CECC48This message is about vindication and integrity. This word is for those who have ever felt like someone put a bad word out on you, talked about you, and made it seem like you were the worst person in the world. Sometimes people cannot see past the obvious. Other times a person will go out of their way to make something more than what it is.

As I listened to the Congressional hearing on the attack on the US Embassy in Bengasi, I kept thinking about the words Joseph said to his brothers when they apologized for trying to kill him and then sold him into slavery: “You meant it for evil, but God meant it for good!” (Gen. 50:20) The republican congressmen and women on the panel appeared to me to be over the top in their rabid, blood thirsty efforts to demean and derail the former Secretary of State, but from my vantage point I think their efforts will probably backfire with the unintended consequence of making Hilleary Clinton look extraordinarily “Presidential” because they did not break her, could not trip her and would not cause her to make a major gaffe.

In a weird way, the vicious, relentless, brutal and at some points idiotic questioning of the former Secretary of State has probably vindicated her in the eyes of many.

There are times in each of our lives when we need vindication. David, the King of Israel spoke of a desire for vindication in Psalm 26. I encourage you to read the following verse and ask yourself, “Have I ever needed the vindication of God”?

Psalm 26: 1  Vindicate me, O Lord, for I have walked in my integrity, and I have trusted in the Lord without wavering. [1]

 

Prayer: Lord, I seek your vindication. Sometimes people do not understand me. There are times when the good I have done is mistaken for anything other than pure. Work with my words that they might well up from the soul like water from the earth. Work with my hands that they might produce good and not evil. Work with my heart that my thoughts might reflect love and mercy, faith and grace. Vindicate me O Lord! Vindicate me while I still have breath in the land of the living. Vindicate me in the eyes of men and women who have misunderstood my faith, my hope and my love. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Book cover
Book cover

Additional Photos Prayers and Meditations from Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Follow the Southern Tour 2015 for “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out”

-Sunday, October 25, 2015 – First Congregational Church UCC, Atlanta, GA 11 AM worship

-Monday, October 26, 2015 – First Congregational Church UCC, Atlanta, GA 6 PM Bible Study on Prayers for Endurance and Strength

-Wednesday, October 28, 2015 – Tubman –King Community Church, Daytona Beach, Florida 6 PM Bible Study Workshop on Prayer

Sunday, November 1, 2015 – Church of the Open Door, Miami, Florida 8:30 and 11 AM Sunday Worship

cropped-wordpressheaderbanner.png

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 26:1). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.