Walk in Your Integrity!

The Cross in the inner ring of the Roman Colisieum
The Cross in the inner ring of the Roman Colisieum

We all know someone who has ripped others off. We all know someone out there who has tried to steal, demean and diminish our character and good name, and done their best to hurt us. The wisdom writer speaks in chapter 28:6 of the Book of Proverbs of the importance to “Walk in integrity.” Think for a moment about what it means to “Walk in integrity.” I think it means to attempt to tell the truth. Do not steal. Worry more about trying to live right than to diminish the reputation of others. It means to stand up for justice and equality. To strive for peace and to attempt to lift the poor from their poverty to a new sense of prosperity is another dimension of what it means to “Walk in integrity.” It means fight when you have to fight, but not as those who have no boundaries or limitations. To “Walk in integrity” is to strive to be like Jesus, even when we are called to sacrifice our lives for the betterment of the world.

Proverbs 28: 6       Better to be poor and walk in integrity than to be crooked in one’s ways even though rich. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does this Bible verse tell you about the importance of integrity?
  2. What are some of the challenges to living a life of integrity?

 Prayer:

Lord, help me to walk with a profound sense of integrity. Teach me to say what I mean and to mean what I say. Help me to treat the poor with dignity and respect. Grant me the strength to stand up for justice, to fight for those things that are right and to challenge evil at every turn. Lord, help me to be guided by more than a desire for money. Teach me to value and respect the power and significance of wealth, yet keep me humble, earnest and pure in my passion for truth, justice and the a desire to love others as you have loved me. Grant me salvation in my desire to live life with a sense of integrity. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

“The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out” – a new book by Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org – $15

com.rocktide.servlet.ShowAsset;jsessionid=4F7F48AA57919F1B9EFD302007CECC48

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Pr 28:6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.