Walk by Faith and Not by Sight!

Welcome ceremony  at  airport  in  Mbandaka, Democratic Republic  of  Congo 2010
Welcome ceremony at airport in Mbandaka, Democratic Republic of Congo 2010

When you take off in an eleven seat plane and make it to 10,000 feet only to run into a rain storm so thick and strong above the River Congo, so intense, so daunting, so frightening, and all you have to guide you are the instruments on the control panel of the pilot, it gives new meaning to the words of the Apostle Paul that “we walk by faith and not by sight.”

In February of 2010, I traveled with a small delegation to observe missions of the United Church of Christ and the Disciples of Christ that was organized by Global Ministries. After arriving in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo, we boarded a small 11 passenger plane to travel hundreds of miles up the River Congo.

Welcome ceremony  at the Airport  at Mbandaka, Dem. Rep. Congo 2010
Welcome ceremony at the Airport at Mbandaka, Dem. Rep. Congo 2010

I sat next to the pilot so I could take photos. After about 20 or 30 minutes it began to rain so hard that we could not see anything out the windshield. The pilot calmly watched the instrument panel and turned on the auto pilot. Even though I was scared to death, I calmed down when I realized that the pilot knew what he was doing and was not in the least bit overwhelmed by the challenge.

As we inched our way through the pounding rain and cloud cover, I thought of the words of Paul to the Church at Corinth: 2 Corinthians 5: for we walk by faith, not by sight.  When we landed in  Mbandaka, we were greeted at the  airport by children who danced and sang to welcome us home.  Had the pilot not trusted the instruments  in the plane we would  never  have made it alive.

When in your life have you had to trust your “Instruments”? Has there ever been a time when you could not see your way, so you trusted in the Bible as your navigational system and let your faith guide you home? To me, this is what our faith is all about:   trusting God and in our blindness, feeling our way home.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does “Walk by faith and not by sight” mean to you?
  2. What is the difference between faith and foolishness?
  3. Other questions?

 

Prayer:

Lord, help me to trust you more completely. I cannot see the end, but your word is enough. I cannot feel the bottom, but I do not worry because you are my anchor, my bounce and my lift. I trust you, Lord, because you have never failed me. I follow you Lord, because you have never forgotten me. I believe in you, even when others mock you, because in the end I expect to see your salvation face to face. I praise you Lord, because my sins have not overwhelmed you, and you continue to give me new opportunities to get things right. Hold my hand, Lord, while I walk by faith and not by sight. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

“The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out”, a new book of prayers and photographs written and taken by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org (only $15)

Book cover
Book cover