A Prayer for Those Who like to Cook (and Eat)

Apple and  Peach-Berry Pies, prepared by LIsa Brand, MD
Apple and Peach-Berry Pies, prepared by LIsa Brand, MD

This prayer is for those who like to cook. Food can be a great reason for people to gather. Those who cook, cook for different reasons. Some cook because they have to cook. These are the people who feel responsibility for their children, parents or perhaps their job. There are others who cook because they derive some joy from the process of preparing a meal to sharing the meal with family and friends.

I am new to cooking. I think I began cooking around age 50. I am now 63. Because cooking is still relatively new to me, I find every aspect of meal preparation to be fresh, exciting, meaningful, fun and stimulating. From the selection of the food items to the cutting of vegetables and everything else is a total joy.

Denise and I are in Toronto, Canada to celebrate the Canadian Thanksgiving with friends who live there. Last night, our friend, Lisa made two pies. One is apple and the other is a peach-berry mix. As she pulled the pies from the oven I began thinking about what a nice end to the Thanksgiving meal those pies would make. Lisa warned me that the pies were for the next day and I would just have to wait. I was struck with the focus and attention Lisa gave to those pies. Her care and attention to the pies made me think about how important cooking is and how much joy people who cook derive from their effort. The Apostle Paul has a word for those who love to eat and cook. I encourage you to look at his Letter to the church at Corinth and what he has to say regarding our attitude towards food.

1 Corinthians 10: 31 So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does this verse say to you about eating, drinking and faith in God?
  2. Other thoughts on this text?

 

Prayer:

Lord, help me to cook and prepare food to the glory of your name. Lord, I give you the glory and honor in everything I do, everything I think about and everything I say! With these hands I pause to prepare food. With these hands I will chop, cut, sauté, bake, fry and more. Bless my hands that they might shape and create meals that are healthy, attractive and tasty. With this mind grant me clarity of focus on every aspect of this meal: from the ingredients to the pots and pans; the stove, the oven, the cooling rack, the temperature in the kitchen. Lord, bless me that I might prepare food that is not only nourishing, but delectable in taste. Lord, may all who sit at this table receive a blessing though the food I have and will prepare. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III: Apple and Peach-Berry Pies made by Lisa Brustein Brand, MD.

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations by Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

“The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out” – a new book by Nicholas Hood III for only $15 at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

“Recipe for Renewal” an article by Nicholas Hood III in this month’s “Guideposts Magazine”

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (1 Co 10:31). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.