So Much More to Live For!

The Male Chorus of the Plymouth United Church of Christ, Detroit in rehearsal
The Male Chorus of the Plymouth United Church of Christ, Detroit in rehearsal

There is so much more to live for! What word from the Bible would you use to lift the spirit and help a depressed or suicidal person?   If you are not depressed: why? Is there something in your view of God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit that tells you that there is always so much more to live for?

I can only speak for myself. To me, every day is a fresh day. Every night is a reason to get excited. Every mistake is an opportunity to re-create. I love people, but I also love myself. I look forward to every day with a sense that for every success, every challenge, there is so much more to live for.

While I see every day of life as an opportunity and a challenge, the truth of the matter is that some people see life as anything but a challenge and opportunity. In reality, some look at their life and come to the conclusion, “My life sucks.” The implication of this attitude is that their life is messed up. The possibility of improvement upon their life is slim. This attitude might also believe that death could not be worse than the life they are living. Therefore, they sometimes come to the conclusion that suicide might be the best option.

The message I try to impart is that regardless of everything, there is still so much more to live for. I believe this because I really believe that each of us is made in the image of God. God loves us. God cares for us and God wants to see us succeed. Share the good news!

Psalm 34: 18 The Lord is near to the brokenhearted,

and saves the crushed in spirit.

19  Many are the afflictions of the righteous,

but the Lord rescues them from them all.

20  He keeps all their bones;

not one of them will be broken.

21  Evil brings death to the wicked,

and those who hate the righteous will be condemned.

22  The Lord redeems the life of his servants;

none of those who take refuge in him will be condemned. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What words of encouragement would you share with a depressed person who is contemplating suicide?
  2. What Bible verses would you use to let a depressed or sad person know that they still have much more life to live?

 

Prayer:

Lord, show me a reason to live! Lord, help me to see that at every stage of life there is so much more to live for. In spite of my mistakes, regardless of my past, no matter how much I have messed up my life or the lives of others, grant me a clear sense that there is so much more live to be lived! Lord, lift my spirt. Lord, grant me fresh joy. Help me to look beyond today and to rejoice in the opportunities for tomorrow. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

  • “Recipe for Renewal” – an article by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III in the October 2015 edition of “Guideposts” Magazine – available now!
  • “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out” – a book of prayers and photos written and taken by Rev. Hood is available at nicholashoodiiiministries.org
    Book cover
    Book cover

    com.rocktide.servlet.ShowAsset;jsessionid=4F7F48AA57919F1B9EFD302007CECC48

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 34:18–22). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.