Wisdom is Your Sister

Sisters, Teri Page Bennett and Denise Page Hood in Rome, Italy
Sisters, Teri Page Bennett and Denise Page Hood in Rome, Italy

The Book of Proverbs is known as “Wisdom literature.” Each verse can stand alone and make sense, but at the same time the individual verses connect with the verse before and the verse afterwards. The verse we are looking at today speaks of wisdom and insight as an “Intimate friend.” This verse is both an affirmation and desire that a premium might be placed on wisdom

Many of us would do well to try to incorporate this verse into our daily life structure. Preparation without wisdom is meaningless. Strength without wisdom is fruitless. To demonstrate the significance of keeping wisdom close, the Wisdom Writer says, “You are my sister…” Sisters and brothers can be and should close. Those of us who were raised in families with at least one sibling know how close sisters and brothers can be. Sometimes sisters and brothers might grow apart, but often are quite close. The Wisdom Writer calls insight “Your intimate Friend.” And wisdom: “You are my sister.”

Those who do not keep wisdom close set themselves up for trouble. For example, Volkswagen might have thought is wise in the short run to misrepresent fuel economy and emissions ratings in its American cars, but now that the truth has come out, it does not seem like a very wise decision. In like manner, when you and I fudge the truth for a short term gain, it often eventually will back fire and slap us in the face.

Proverbs 7: 4         Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,” and call insight your intimate friend, [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How does the wisdom of the Lord compare with the wisdom of the world?
  2. How can a person increase their wisdom that only God can give?

 

Prayer:

Lord, teach me to seek your wisdom. Make me never so proud that I cease to seek the advice of others. Make me never so smart that I stop learning. Grant me a thirst for knowledge and a hunger for insight. Bless me, fill me and surround me with your wisdom. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos Meditations and Travel Notes from the Greece-Rome 2015 “Following the Footsteps of the Apostle Paul at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

Book cover
Book cover

com.rocktide.servlet.ShowAsset;jsessionid=4F7F48AA57919F1B9EFD302007CECC48

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Pr 7:4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.