My Help Comes from the Lord!

DSC_0821At some point in each of our lives reality sinks in and we are forced to accept that with all of our strength, intelligence and good will, there is often something still lacking that prevents us from being totally self-sufficient. It is precisely this moment when we are forced to acknowledge that God is real and without the help of God we are nothing.

The older I get the more I humble myself and learn to rely on the power of the Holy Spirit. What I have found is that it informs me, leads me and guides me. Not only does it provide direction, it is protection. My encouragement to you is that you let go and let the Holy Spirit do for you what you cannot do for yourself

Psalm 121: 2          My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the statement of David that, “My help comes from the Lord…”
  2. What words would you use to attempt to convince a non-believer that our help comes from the Lord?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I must confess that there is no other way other than you. I have stumbled as I followed the wisdom of the world. I have choked when I attempted to think outside of the boundaries of your love. I could have drowned in the knowledge of self-reliance and over confidence.  You are my help, my strength, my guiding light and my peace at night. Lord, it is you who made the earth and the heavens. It is you who brings the sunshine and raid. You snatch the moonlight by the knees and threaten the sun with Love. You overwhelm hate with a stare- down from heaven. You challenge poverty with prosperity, envy with acceptance and hate with love. Lord, I put my trust in you. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Learn more about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

com.rocktide.servlet.ShowAsset;jsessionid=4F7F48AA57919F1B9EFD302007CECC48

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ps 121:2). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.