“Suffer the Children”

465 enhanced interent version
Dr. Ingida Asfaw, founder of Ethiopian North American Health Professions Association surrounded by orphans due to AIDS (www.enapha.org)

This Sunday I am inviting all parents to bring their children to church with their school backpacks. At a special point in the worship service we will pause to ask God’s blessing upon each child and each backpack that they use to haul their books and supplies to school.

As I think about the story of Jesus pausing to bless children I think about how you and I should never be so busy that we do not have time to talk with children, listen to children and help children. I encourage you to reread the children of Jesus blessing the children and ask yourself this question, “have I ever been too busy to help a child?”

Matthew 19: 13 Then little children were being brought to him in order that he might lay his hands on them and pray. The disciples spoke sternly to those who brought them; 14 but Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs.” 15 And he laid his hands on them and went on his way. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What do you think Jesus meant when he said of children, “For it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs”?
  2. What positive attributes do you think that Jesus saw in the children?

 

Prayer:

Lord, make me an encourager of children and not a hinderer of children. O, God, teach me to conduct my life in such a manner that even a child could see Jesus in me. Grant me an even spirit, a spirit of peace, a spirit of hope, and a spirit of love. Lord, grant me the right words, that I might teach children that with you all things are possible. Lord, make me never so busy that I do not have time for a little child. Lord, make me never so thirsty that I might refuse to share my refreshment with a child. Lord, make me never so hungry that I would pass by a starving child and refuse them food. Lord, make me never so proud that I do not have time to encourage a child. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Pick up your copy of the new book of original prayers and photos written and taken by Rev. Hood, “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

Book cover
Book cover

 com.rocktide.servlet.ShowAsset;jsessionid=4F7F48AA57919F1B9EFD302007CECC48

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Mt 19:13–15). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.