Liberian school girls from the Sarbo Tribe in River Gee County.
Liberian school girls from the Sarbo Tribe in River Gee County.

Every one of us is blessed with one or more spiritual gifts. While one person is blessed to preach, another may be blessed to sing. Still others are blessed with the ability to heal. The Apostle Paul teaches that he longed to share his spiritual gifts with the believers in Rome, that he might be an encouragement to them in their faith. In like manner he acknowledges that he hopes they will be an encouragement to him in his faith. That is how the faith goes. Each of us is called to encourage one another in our faith. Listen to what Paul says about the varieties of gifts, but one Spirit.

Romans 12: We have gifts that differ according to the grace given to us: prophecy, in proportion to faith; ministry, in ministering; the teacher, in teaching; the exhorter, in exhortation; the giver, in generosity; the leader, in diligence; the compassionate, in cheerfulness. [1]

The gifts may vary, but each of us is blessed in different kinds of ways. When Paul writes to the believers in Jesus who are assembled in Rome, he begins by telling them that he “Longs to see them…that I may share with you some spiritual gift to strengthen you…” One of the lessons I get from this passage of scripture is the importance of recognizing, sharing and receiving spiritual gifts with each other. As you read the following passage, I encourage you to search your soul and ask yourself about how you treat your spiritual gifts. Are you fully aware of the gifts that the Lord has endowed you? Are you sharing your gifts or keeping them under wraps? If your gifts are under wraps, why?

 

Romans 1: 11 For I am longing to see you so that I may share with you some spiritual gift to strengthen you— 12 or rather so that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine[2]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How would you describe the spiritual gifts that you possess?
  2. Can you think of a time you were unwilling to share your spiritual gift with someone else?
  3. What is the most difficult thing for you to allow another person to share their spiritual gift with you?

 

Prayer:

Lord, teach me to recognize and share the spiritual gifts you have given to me. Remind me that all things come from you. If there is any perspective in understanding the mysteries of faith that you have blessed me to obtain, free me to share with those who may be unaware. If you have endowed me with a voice that can instill cheer and uplift, take away my inhibition to be an encouragement to others. If you have blessed me to heal, set a fire within my soul to share my gift with those who are infirmed. Lord, if you have blessed me with the ability to teach, grant me the motivation to teach to the glory of God. In like manner, break down my resistance to receive the blessings and gifts of others. Make me never too proud to listen to others, learn from others, and to be blessed from others. Lord. Lord, make me an encourager of the faith and not a destroyer of the faith. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Learn more about Nicholas Hood III Ministries the new book of prayers and inspirational photographs by Rev. Hood entitled, “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the

Book cover
Book cover

Way Out” at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ro 12:5–8). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ro 1:11–12). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.