DSC_0526 internet versionIt is easy and tempting to pass judgment on others. Sometimes religious people are the worst offenders in looking down upon those who think and act differently. Paul views the passing of judgment upon other Christians as being weak in the faith. I find his view interesting because what he is really saying is that sometimes people who are cocky about their Christianity and so sure that the things they abstain from to get closer to God may actually be a cover for their lack of understanding. As you read the following verse ask yourself a few deep questions regarding your own faith in Jesus.

Romans 14: 10 Why do you pass judgment on your brother or sister? Or you, why do you despise your brother or sister? For we will all stand before the judgment seat of God. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How can passing judgment upon another believer in Christ cover a weakness in your own faith?
  2. What are some of the root causes of despising another person?

Prayer:

Lord, grant me the presence of mind to resist the temptation to pass judgment upon others. Lord, teach me to focus more upon my own issues of faith and less on the behavior of others who believe in you. Lord, draw me closer to you. Help me to see you and feel you in everything I do and everywhere I go. Teach me to welcome the stranger, and not to respond in fear to those who worship you in a different manner to what I know and are comfortable. Lord, when my life is over, I pray that you will extend to me an extravagant welcome into your kingdom that has no end. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional prayers, photos and meditations written by Rev. Hood t https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

Prayer Book-CoverPurchase your copy of the new book of prayers and photos written and taken by Rev. Hood by going to www.nicholashooddiiiministries.org

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Ro 14:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.