014If you needed protection where would you go? In Proverbs 18 the wisdom writer proclaims that the very name of the Lord is a strong tower. Think for a moment about the image of the name of the Lord being a strong tower. He does not say the Lord is a strong tower, which he is, but, the name of the Lord is a strong tower. There have been times in my life when I simply uttered the name of the Lord, “Jesus.” In that one word there is power, hope, and love. In that one name there is shadow from the sun and relief from all that might harm.

As you pick up the pieces of your life today, I encourage you to think about this one little proverb and ask yourself the following questions:

  1. When do I call on the name of Jesus?
  2. Do I see the Lord as my “Strong tower”?
  3. If I do not see the Lord as my “Strong tower”? where do I put my trust?

Proverbs 18: 10      The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run into it and are safe. [1]

 

Prayer:

Lord, you are so strong! Under the shadow of your almighty arm there is strength. I build myself up, but you are stronger. My legs propel me, but you are my fuel. The core of my body gives me a power that makes me proud, but your very name is strength for today and refreshment for the days ahead. Lord, your name is my protection. Your Spirit is my inspiration. Your grace and mercy are my hope. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations at http://puccdetroit.wordpress.com/

Information about the ministry and mission of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodIIIministries.org

Prayer Book-Cover“The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out” – a new book by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III is available at www.nicholashoodIIIministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. 1989 (Pr 18:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.